DIY Sparkle Shoes

When I started planning my wedding I knew I had a few things working against me. Namely, a smaller budget and a larger body. I realized the things that I wanted, I wouldn’t necessarily be able to find or buy easily (even though the shopping addiction is real).

20160815_185618

I was looking for “Navy Blue Sparkly shoes” to almost no avail. Once I did find shoes that I (kind of) liked none of them came in WIDE.

20160815_190108

After hours and hours of searching, all the major retailers, and the personal sale websites, I didn’t find anything that I liked very much, forget LOVED. Even though there’s a lot of things about weddings I don’t like, I want mine to feel good.

20160826_005539

I decided I want to make something special. I know it will be one of a kind.

I have not made my official ‘walk down the isle’ shoes yet, but I made a few prototypes to see how to do it right. It only took a few steps. Get your glitter ready!

  1. Set up all your materials on a disposable table cloth.
    • Shoes20160815_164438
    • Painter’s tape
    • Mod Podge
    • Sponge brush
    • Cup of water (for sponge brush)
    • Desired glitter color(s)
    • Magazine to help gather the excess glitter
    • Gem glue
    • Rhinestones
    • Toothpicks
    • Paper towels for cleanup
  2. Tape up the parts of the shoes you do not want to get glitter on. IT WILL GET ON EVERYTHING. 20160815_164756
  3. Sponge a light layer of Mod Podge on the portion of the shoe that you are comfortable working with. (Could be one square inch, could be half the shoe) 20160815_170844
  4. Put shoe on the magazine and sprinkle glitter over glued area. (optional) Lightly press the glitter on with your finger.

    20160815_171420
    Her face says, “wow look at all that glitter”
  5. Shake off the excess glitter onto the magazine. Use magazine to gather excess glitter back into tub (or whatever amount of glitter normal people buy).
  6. Repeat until desired parts of shoe are covered in glitter.
    • Let dry for a few hours to overnight. You will notice holes or gaps where you can see the shoe material. Repeat the glitter/glue process for a really thick covering of glitter. You may stop there if you don’t want to add rhinestones.
  7. Put one final layer of mod podge on top to seal the glitter and brush it on the same way. Unless you want to leave a trail of glitter, which is fine by me…but your carpets may disagree. 20160815_183215
  8. Adding rhinestones should definitely happen AFTER you have added all the glitter you want to put on. Line the area you want to put rhinestones on with glue and slowly add rhinestones, one at a time. You can use a toothpick to help place the glue exactly where you want it and then to pick up individual rhinestones, since it’ll be a little tacky. Take your time. This is the most time consuming part of the process(other than drying time).
  9. Let dry overnight before wearing! 🙂

Left is a picture with a flash, right is without.

I decided to go for a tuxedo look and silver and blue are my wedding colors. (This is also how I learned that all the glitter should come before the rhinestones.)

20160826_00553920160826_005534Again

Flash left

No Flash right

so SPARKLY!!!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. marshasassycritic says:

    Blue and silver are my favorite colors, plus I love glitter lol! I think this is a neat and fun idea!

    Like

  2. Whit says:

    This is dope. I didn’t realize it was so easy to do yourself

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sensaishanal says:

      Thanks! Yeah it was great! I’m about to do it to all my shoes! Lolol (I’m only kind of kidding)

      Like

  3. Ty Knighten says:

    Very cute! You did a great job!

    Like

  4. NaysVoice says:

    This a fun creative DIY. You are correct it will be special and unique for your day. congrats!

    Like

    1. sensaishanal says:

      Thanks! I’m excited 🙂

      Like

  5. Miss Jamila says:

    Cute shoes, I’m a big fan of glitter. My fave are the gold ones.

    Like

  6. Briana says:

    I love the diy glitter shoes. Very smart of you to practice on a different pair of shoes to get the hang of the craft. I would’ve gone full out on “the” shoes and got mad when I messed up.

    Like

    1. sensaishanal says:

      Thanks! Lol exactly! Well I actually JUST ordered “the” shoes (for like $20) so I couldn’t have before even if I wanted to.

      Like

  7. mommysdressingroom says:

    Thr fact that you made these means so much more than just buying some, congratulations on your wedding!

    Like

Feel Free to tell me your thoughts!

