Hungry in Hyannis

One of the things we had a good time doing in Cape Cod was EAT! There are plenty of beautiful restaurants, with Award winning clam chowder and awesome views of the Hyannis Harbor. We certainly worked up an appetite doing walking, hiking and sight seeing.

The first big dinner we had in Hyannis was at The Black Cat Tavern. They have an extensive menu with plenty of delicious and hearty options. We opted for medium fair when we ordered, because we knew we wanted the chowder to start. We were able to sit outside on the patio, with a view of passersby and the Harbor. The inside of the tavern gives a romantic vibe, but it is very casual. The hosts and waiters in jeans and branded t-shirts assured us that this is a relaxed environment. Everything was delicious. Seen Below: Clam chowder, Hot buttered Lobster roll & chips, and a Lobster Quesadilla, with some amazing spicy sauce that I would personally like a giant tub of. After the meal, we were given a coupon to a sister restaurant, and we used it later on.

We had lunch at Fresh Ketch. A seafood and Steak restaurant that had a fancy look to it, particularly from the outside, however inside it became very casual, even family oriented. The outside seating was nice, but it was particularly hot so we opted to come inside. The menu had plenty of options. We chose the Crab cakes to start, and they were some of the crispiest I have ever had. Then we each wanted the tacos, so as good friends do, we each ordered one type, then traded. Both the fish and Shrimp tacos were delicious. The rice that came on the side was lacking, I am not sure if it was just an overcooked batch or what but it was really crispy, and not in a good way like the crab cake.

We decided to cash in our coupon for the Roadhouse Cafe, we also decided to dress up a little, since it was our last night in town. The restaurant was a bit more upscale than the others we went to, which was perfect for our attire. We got a window seat, with some nice romantic lighting as the sun was setting. For starters we chose, you guessed it, more chowder and lobster bisque, the amazing Lobster Bisque (the butteriest lobster bisque ever made), Katie had the Pan Seared Diver Scallops over cranberry Risotto and I had Baked Local Seafood Casserole: cod, scallops and shrimp with buttery cracker crumbs and a lobster Newburg sauce. It was Fan-freaking-tastic. These were some of the most tender and gigantic scallops we had ever had. My meal was completed with garlic mash potatoes and vegetables and I was stuffed. They also geve us a coupon at the end for the Black Cat. (They know how to market)

Our Final stop before we left Hyannis and drove back down to reality was Katie’s Ice Cream Shop. They have a ton of homemade flavors and when we walked in, one of the employees was making waffle cones, right next to the register and it smelled like heaven! I got the Cape Cod flavor, which boasted a sandy-surprise and it really did have a crunchy ribbon of (I’m assuming) crushed cone. So good. Special shout out to them for having this cute little cutout in front to take pics in… It might have been meant for children, but everyones a kid when it comes to ice cream right?!

 

I would personally go back to any of these restaurants! I might trade out a meal a Fresh Ketch for something with a few more options, but for standard food it really was delicious. Honestly it’s hard to go wrong out there. This is a touristy town and they know their customers need them to deliver when it comes down to it.

What are some restaurants I should add to my “Must Try” list?

39 thoughts on “Hungry in Hyannis

Add yours

  1. Crab cakes, chowder, & ice cream….sign me up. I havent been to Cape Cod yet but its definitely on my bucket list to sit on one of those patios and just eat the great seafood! It all looks so yummy

    Like

  2. I absolutely love seafood and that lobster roll looked amazing! will definitely have to add to my list of places to travel

    Like

  3. Omg when I travel I think I get back on everyone’s nerves because my mission is to try everything lol! I definitely lived through you on this one!

    Like

  4. So much too eat, what to choose what not. I’ve never heard before about crab cake, was that yummy? I visualized myself at the perfect time of sunset, all dressed up; sailing in those romantic moments.

    Like

  5. Cape Cod was one of the first family vacations I went on and I still have very fond memories of it. The food was the absolute best there! Such good seafood.

    Like

Feel Free to tell me your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

